Beauty and Hair A/W 2012 – best looks and Top Ten Products!

Golden Goddess at Christian Dior

After so many princess-pretty looks this season sees a change of pace for the beauty addict. Without a doubt there are some graphic looks out there – the glam goth is everywhere with metallic eyes and deep, plum lips. However, as always, I soak up all of the looks, and work out which ones I will be adapting for my own beauty look for this season. I think this look at Christian Dior is sheer perfection. Part of its understated Nude range it is the most strking way to have a golden-yet-natural look this season. For a little more glamour I will be adopting………

Red and Gold at Michael Kors

This look is new territory for Michael Kors and is the perfect way to wear a red lip – keep it understated with a pale gold eye and a strong brow. It is a more powerful look that is still feminine – for when you really want to make a beauty statement. The look really works well with all of the dark purple, wine and bordeaux colour blocked fashions for the season!

Autumn Power Plait at Pucci

It looks like waves are here to stay! Although straight hair is making a power play this season, it seems that us girls are wanting to hold on to our waves. The curls have less texture and are less beachy – the addition of the plaited headbands at Pucci means you can soften up your hair looks when you are making a power play with your clothes. And after many years in the wilderness it is great to see the middle part back, but it takes some getting used to………….

Pretty Pony by Orlando Pita

Pita is a hair maestro every season. This is not a new look by any means but sometimes, when it comes to hair, a classic just can’t be beaten. The difference this season is in the position – this time buns and ponytails are at the nape of the neck, as seen at DVF. For curly hair like mine this is one I leave to the professionals – it needs to perfectly straight and sleek to begin with. The perfect pony if you are going for equastrian or military style statements.

AND NOW FOR MY TOP TEN BEAUTY AND HAIR PRODUCTS THIS SEASON……………….

Aerin – Fall Style Palette

Beautiful and talented Aerin Lauder, grandaughter of Estee and a powerhouse behind the brand, has introduced her own beauty and lifestyle range and, as expected, is understated and luxurious with all of the style and grace its creator embodies. This palette is my favourite and contains all the neutrals I love for an easy day or weekend look. I do love a good palette – but only the best ones are full of shades that you will use. as Aerin says, “It is beauty made easy, stylish and effortless.”

Chanel – Coco Noir

Any Chanel fragrance launch is coveted  but this evening version of the classic Coco is the perfect foil for every darkly glamorous princess this season. I treat myself to Chanel every season and this is my little piece of Rue Cambon heaven for Autumn/Winter.

Dior – Golden Jungle Vernis

I have avoided any type of nail art so far and clung on to my Essie Ballet slippers for dear life! However, I could not resist this Dior duo that, when layered together, creates a crocodile effect on the nails! As always, the packaging and presentation is impeccable, too.

Fake Bake – Flawless

This product has just been named Best Body Tan by Harper’s Bazaar Hot 100 Beauty Buys, and it thoroughly deserves it. This is the easiest fake tan I have ever used, with the best results. It has a great smell, is super-easy to apply, it comes with a free mitt and gloves, and quite simply delivers a flawless tan. I have worked in the beauty industry for nearly five years now and have tried virtually every tan out there, and this is the one I recommend. Just perfect for an A-list autumnal glow.

YSL – Youth Liberator Eye Serum

The latest addition to this award winning range, this eye serum contains three patented glycans that combat everything from fine lines to dark shadows. After using other products from the Youth Liberator range I can’t wait to get started on this one. The results so far on my skin have been amazing – I would recommend this range to anyone who is fighting the good anti-ageing fight!

Liz Earle – Healthy Glow Powder Blush

I am huge Liz Earle fan and devotee and was really looking forward to her cosmetics range and I have not been disappointed. I am so impressed with this powder blush – it has a beautifully fresh appearance and gives you a real long lasting, natural glow. My favourite is Rose 4, a warm rose pink. Perfect for brightening your skin on chilly days!

Kerastase – Reflection Masque Chroma Reflect

This award winning hair masque is part of the legendary Kerastase range. A superb treat for dry, coloured hair like mine, it gives my hair shine and protects it from the elements. A hair miracle in a jar!

L’Oreal – Super Liner Intenza

A favourite of Cheryl Cole’s, this liner has a luxurious gel texture that glides on so easily and lasts until you take it off. The professional brush gives a precision finish which makes this package the beauty bargain of the season.

Estee Lauder – Pure Colour Palette

As much as I love my neutrals sometimes it is great to try out the new season’s shades and this palette is pure colour perfection. Estee Lauder have produced some amazing collections over the last season, and this one contains Violet Underground, which I can’t wait to try. Tom Pecheaux has really revitalised this brand and made into a beauty lover’s paradise.

Dior – Diorskin Nude

This is the perfect boost for skin as we head into autumn, it contains 40 per cent water which means it glides on easily, gives light coverage, and makes my skin look much more radiant. I tend to go for more heavier formulations than this, but I was sold as soon as I tried it. In the fight against dullness and wrinkles Diorskin Nude should be part of your armoury!

Leave a Reply

