BEAUTY BEST – Top 10 of All Time……

You can never just be a fashion girl, or a beauty girl, the two go hand in hand. It is strange, though, that while the most avid fashionista can slavishly search for new trends she might get stuck in a beauty rut. It is great to try new beauty trends as they can really mix up your look – plus they are cheaper than the latest ‘It’ bag and, when it comes to serious skincare, are also a real investment into your future. Most girls start off by copying their mum or their elder sister. My first stop for beauty was always Boots 17. Those were the days when you teamed your pink eyeshadow with your mauve mascara. Did you look like Madonna? No, you just looked like you had an eye infection, but at the end of the day it all gets washed off and you literally get to start each day with a clean beauty slate (providing you actually washed off last night’s efforts………..surely you are not still falling asleep in it?) As time passes, we all chop and change but when it comes to beauty, and I have tried virtually everything, there are some beauty products that I just wouldn’t be without or swap for another version. These are my tried-and-tested and can’t be equalled, in no particular order……………..

BEST MOISTURISER – LIZ EARLE SUPER SKIN MOISTURISER

I first came across Liz Earle through her legendary Cleanse and Polish, and then became a fan of her Skin Repair Moisturiser. Just as I was becoming concerned about ageing, she launched Superskin and I am now a devoted fan! It is rich, luxurious and fragrance free, and is packed full of GLA, rich in OMEGA 3 and packed with antioxidants to protect skin from environmental damage. It is my absolute must-have, couldn’t do without beauty saviour, and is a moisturiser beyond compare! Enough said.(£36.00)

I purchase my Superskin from John Lewis. You can also go to www.johnlewis.com or www.uk.lizearle.com

 

BEST SKIN TREAT – LIZ EARLE INSTANT BOOST SKIN TONIC

 I have had some very bad experiences with toners: expensive ones that have stripped my skin (and my bank balance) and cheaper ones packed with so many chemicals and fragrances you would be scared to let them sit on your skin. Step forward Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic. This is not just a toner. Natural ingredients like natural aloe vera, calendula, chamomile, cucumber and natural source vitamin E all refresh skin, sooth and calm it, and prepare it for your moisturiser. The spritz version is also fabulous in the summer for refreshing your face. If you want to see evidence of how these products work then you only have to look at Liz Earle herself – her skin is amazing! (£12.50)

I purchase my Instant Boost Skin Tonic from John Lewis. You can also go to www.johnlewis.com or www.uk.lizearle.com

 

BEST BODY SELF TANNER – FAKE BAKE FLAWLESS

High fashion has a love/hate relationship with the suntan. Let’s get this straight, though. When you try on all the new Spring/Summer trends and all you see staring back at you is a load of pasty, care-worn skin, the pale-is-interesting look is not something you want to adopt for the next six months or so. Now we are all more skin aware, fake tan is the only option. But there is fake tan and then there is very fake tan. We all know the pitfalls. After twenty years of searching I have found the holy grail of self tanning – Fake Bake Flawless. A light liquid lotion that has a faultless colour guide, you apply with the enclosed mitt and gloves (thank you Fake Bake!) and it literally glides on. Paraben free, and with a coconut smell, I apply one layer if I want a golden glow, or build it up over a couple of nights for a deeper colour. Flawless – exactly what it says on the box! (£20.00)

I purchase my Flawless from www.fakebake.co.uk and as a registered VIP member I get to enjoy discounts and special offers!

BEST FACE TANNER – FAKE BAKE FACE PLATINUM

If the search for fake tan was difficult for me, then the perfect face tanner was a never ending challenge. Even the most expensive ones turned me orange, and left my face drier than the Gobi desert. The thing about face tanner is that if you use it a few times a week, it means missing out on nights’ worth of skin treatments, and to me, it just wasn’t worth it. Until I discovered Fake Bake Face Platinum. I just apply at night after using a light face scrub and wake up the next morning looking like I’ve had a weekend in St. Barth’s. The other advantage? This product is packed full of skin care ingredients and advantages that would put other anti-ageing products to shame. Whenever I recommend this to a friend, they always come back to me with rave results, and that is what a great beauty product is all about! I have never put my face in the sun since using this and never need to again.(£30.75)

I purchase my Flawless from www.fakebake.co.uk

 

BEST EYE MAKE-UP – BOBBI BROWN EYE SHADOW

There is no better eye make-up on the planet than Bobbi Brown. Available in a range of shades for lids, lining eyes, and defining brows. This silky, matte formula glides on smoothly and blends easily. I buy mine in lots of shades and make up my own customised pallette, which you can purchase separately, so that I always have my favourite shades to hand. Sometimes I stick to neutrals like Bone and Taupe, but I do like to experiment with colour washes and more daring shades – yes, Bobbi does them, too. You never come away from a Bobbi Brown make-up lesson looking anything else than a sleeker, prettier version of yourself! I love the whole range but this product is their best, by far. (£15.50)

 

I purchase my Eye Shadow from John Lewis or from www.bobbibrown.co.uk

 

BEST MASCARA – MAC FALSE LASHES MASCARA

Mascara is every girl’s key beauty saviour. Two coats of a great mascara turns a naked face into a just-can-face-the-world-face. Like everyone, I have experimented with false eyelashes and extensions. I have bought that stuff on the shopping channel to make them grow but really, I was at the back of the queue when the great eyelashes were being given out. They are fine, short and stubby. I have used many great mascaras, including the ones that regularly win awards in the beauty glossies, but this one is what I call mascara home. Currently in a limited edition form, this mascara gives you super-long, lush extension-style lashes and it lasts and lasts.(£18.00)

I purchase my FALSE LASHES MASCARA from MAC MET QUARTER LIVERPOOL or www.maccosmetics.co.uk

 

BEST NAIL PRODUCT – CHANEL LE VERNIS

Nail poilsh was just another beauty product until Chanel created Rouge Noir for Uma Thurman’s character in Pulp Fiction. From that moment on the nail industry took off in its own right into the giant business it is today. There are so many great brands to choose from but really, when it comes down to it, no-one does it better than Chanel. Intense colour and high gloss. Designed to be a real nailcare product, it respects the fragile nature of your nails. The original formula ensures rapid drying and lasting hold. LE VERNIS has an original formula, exclusive to CHANEL, composed of special resins. A precise concentration of solvents gives a hard, resistant, gloss film with a  Toluene-free formula. Over the past few seasons shades such as Paradoxical have been sell outs and April, May and June are bound to follow suit. A little piece of Coco, couture history and timeless style all in one fabulous bottle! (£15.50)

 

I purchase LE VERNIS from John Lewis or www.boots.com

 

BEST FACE MAKE-UP – CHANEL VITALUMIERE

A miracle in a bottle, this fluid foundation revives tired, dull complexions. Packed full of moisturisrers it gives skin a luminous quality and has perked up my face on the days when it has really, really needed the help! It has a light, satiny finish that gives a glow without shine, and a pump action that means you never use too much. There are a few products in the Vitalumiere stable but the original is still my favourite. Gone are the days when wearing foundation felt like wearing a mask. This foundation feels like a second skin – just a better one, with a little help from Chanel. (£33.00)

I purchase my Vitalumiere from John Lewis or www.boots.com

 

BEST ANTI-AGEING PRODUCT – YSL FOREVER YOUTH LIBERTATOR SERUM 

  • YSL has developed it’s own weapon in the fight against ageing – Glycanactif. It aims to make skin more luminous, fine lines appear less visible and more plumped. Does it work? You bet it does! Once you go into the technological side of skin care it can be a daunting task – anyone concerned with ageing is really looking for a miracle! Well I know that nothing can perform miracles, but just a few days of adding this to my regular routine and I got lots of compliments about my skin. The product itself is super easy to use, easily measured, and although this shouldn’t matter, it can take pride of place on any bathroom shelf with its amazing packaging. This YSL formulation has a whole range so the eye cream will definitely be my next stop! (£60.00)

I purchase my Youth Liberator Serum from John Lewis or www.johnlewis.com

 

BEST CULT BODY PRODUCT – I AM HANDMADE DOUBLE WHIPPED BODY BUTTER

Every beauty addict likes to discover her own cult brand and I have found mine with I Am Handmade. Choosing a stand alone product was a tough ask,but in the end I pumped for the Body Butter in my favourite Creamy Vanilla Bean fragrance, which I use alongside the pictured Snow Angel handmade soap. The butter gives your body an intense moisture boost and is packed full of shea butter, cocoa butter,coconut oil and a whole host of vitamins and anti-oxidants, it just the ticket for getting your skin ready for summer. The best thing about this brand is the love and care that goes into each product by owner Celine Blacow, and the personal service you receive as a new or a beloved customer. This range is truly beautiful, and brings results. Needs to be tried to be believed! (From 8 Euros). Celine ships to the U.K.!

I purchase my Double Whipped Body Butter from www.iamhandmade.com

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

